10 June 1822

 Eighth Philharmonic Society Concert

London: New Argyll Rooms

Time: Evening, Eight o’Clock

Subscription Concert: 4 Guineas




Part I    
Symphony in E flat major Mozart
From The Creation: Air, ‘Now Heaven in fullest glory shone’Signor ZuchelliHaydn
Piano Concerto No.3 in G minor (MS)Mr. MoschelesMoscheles
From Agnese: Duet, ‘Quel sepolcro’Mme Caradori, Signor ZuchelliPaër
Overture in D major B. Romberg
Part II    
Symphony No.5 in C minor  Beethoven
From Sigismondo: Scena and Cavatina, ‘Oggetto amabile’Miss H. Ashe  
(first performance in London)
Violin ConcertoMr. KiesewetterMaurer
From Le nozze di Figaro  
Recit. ‘E Susanna non vien!’  
Aria, ‘Dove sono! i bei momenti’
Mme CaradoriMozart
Overture, Anacréon Cherubini
Principal Vocalists: Mme Caradori, Miss H. Ashe; Signor Zuchelli  
Principal Instrumentalists: Messrs. Kiesewetter, Moscheles
Leader: Signor Paolo Spagnoletti, Conductor: Mr. Henry Rowley Bishop


Salary: £21

[GB-Lbl RPS MS 299, f10 v.]

Charlotte: Moscheles played his G minor concerto, which he had lately reconstructed, first at the Philharmonic. [RMM, 44.]


Philharmonic Society Programme


His Majesty.






Sinfonia in E. flat                       –                  –                 –                 –    Mozart.
Air, Signor ZUCHELLI, “Now heaven in fullest glory shone,” 
    (The Creation)                        –                  –                 –                 –    Haydn.
New Concerto, MS. Piano-forte—Mr. MOSCHELES,   –                –  Moscheles.
Duetto, Signora CARADORI and Signor ZUCHELLO,             “Quel 
    sepolcro,”   (Agnese)               –                  –                 –                 –    Paër
Overture in D.        –         –         –        –          –          –           –           –          B. Romberg.


Sinfonia in C. Minor                   –                   –                  –                –    Beethoven.
New Scena e Cavatina, Miss H, ASHE, “Ogetto amabile,”            
   (first time of performance in London)                           –                  –                Rossini.
Concerto Violin, Mr. KEISEWETTER             –              –                 –              Mauer.
Recit. ed Aria, Signora CARADORI, “Dove sono,” (Le Nozze 
   Di Figaro)         –         –         –        –          –          –            –             –         Mozart.
Overture to Anacreon               –                  –                   –                  –                 –Cherubini.
Leader, Mr. SPAGNOLETTI.—Conductor, Mr. BISHOP.

To commence at Eight o’Clock precisely.

The subscribers are most earnestly entreated to observe, that the Tickers are not transferable,

and that any violation of this rule will incur a total forfeiture of the subscription.

It is requested that the Coachmen may be directed to set down and take up with their

horses’ heads towards Piccadilly.

The door in Little Argyll-street will be open after the Concert for the egress of the Company.

The Quarterly Musical Magazine and Review, vol. IV (May 1822): 253.

…Our account does not embrace the eight and last-but it is understood that Mr. MOSCHELES was to perform.


The Morning Post (June 12, 1822), [2].


The eighth and concluding Concert of the PHILHARMONIC SOCIETY, for the present season, took place on Monday night in these Rooms, and, as usual, was attended by a very numerous audience. This Concert, which was obviously founded more for the honour of the Art, than for views of pecuniary advantage, has been always supported by the very best musical professors, native and foreign, that the country could supply. It was on this occasion led by SPAGNIOLETTI, a first- rate musician. The performers were Sig. ZUCHELLI, Signora CARADORI, and Miss H. ASHE. A strong interest was obviously excited by the expectation of the latter, as the daughter of a performer of high and merited distinction. We never witnessed. a more interesting appearance. Miss ASHE possesses a very agreeable person, and is very young— but her taste, science, and voice, are of the first order. She sung a new Scena e Cavatina of ROSSINI, in a manner that demonstrated the admirable school in which she had been educated, and her own talents and sensibility. Her voice is clear, full, and sweet, and her intonation the most perfect we ever heard. She received, as she deserved, the warmest applause; and we may venture to predict that she will prove one of the brightest ornaments of our musical circles.  

One of the highest gratifications of the season was afforded on this occasion, in a most extraordinary display of talent by M. MOSCHELES. The piece which he executed, was a new Concerto in G minor, which exhibited great originality of genius, novelty of character, and elevation of style. His entire command of the instrument, from the most exquisite delicacy, to the full power of the Pianoforte, enabled him to throw into his performance the boldest contrasts, and to manage the intermediate gradations, with the happiest effect. Difficulties are but pastimes to him; and in passages of amazing rapidity, his rich imagination supplies such innumerable beauties as to make his execution not merely matter of surprise, but of the highest delight and admiration. His brilliant performance must excite great curiosity as to what Mr. MOSCHELES will produce for his benefit.

Allgemeine musikalische Zeitung (September 18, 1822): 623-624.

[London, 19 July] Hr. Moscheles spielte im letzten philharmonischen Concerte ein noch ungedrucktes Concert von seiner eigenen Composition mit vielem Beyfall.